11a.m. November 11, 2011

Today is Remembrance Day and as always it has me feeling a little weepy.

I attended the Remembrance Day assembly at my daughter’s school. Her class was highly involved in the assembly with each child getting a speaking part so of course I did not want to miss her 1/2 moment in the spotlight. After conferring with her best friend on the phone last night it was decided that the two girls would bow to the pressure from their mothers and they would indeed wear skirts or dresses to school today. If you know Sporty Girl you know that this is a rare occurrence – first time in her 8 years of schooling.

All of that aside, the assembly was well done. Our school has a number of military families who attend. There is a military base not five minutes from my house. I see these men and women in their uniforms, sitting next to their spouses, proudly watching their children and I want to turn around and shake their hands and thank them for the sacrifices that they all make so that we can live in freedom. But I don’t. It seems a little on the flaky side to me. So I sit there wearing my poppy, blinking back my tears and my gratitude.

At the beginning of the assembly a student enters carrying in the Canadian flag and I see those parents in uniform stiffly saluting our flag and I too want to salute. I live in one of the greatest countries in the world where my children have the potential to become whatever they choose. We live in safety and without fear. My flag, my country deserves to be saluted. It was a safe harbour to my in-laws after the war and it continues to be the land of plenty for all of us.

The grade one class sings a song about children living in a world without war and with love. I think to myself, how lucky are we to live somewhere that we can even dream about such a world? I don’t believe that it can happen but I am happy that the children can think that it might.

I offer my gratitude to our military and my love to our country.

2 responses to “11a.m. November 11, 2011

    • Thanks Big. All three sons came home from high school disgusted with their assembly. Said it was disrespectful to veterans and the military families. It was students presenting anti-war skits. They did not even observe the minute of silence. Eldest son complained to vice principal and is talking to principal on Monday. Glad to know that my kids get it.

Leave a Reply

