Cottage Wildlife

I am very happy not to be writing about spotting deer, bears, moose of foxes. As much as I love spotting deer and moose I worry about hitting one with my car. I don’t want to hurt them and even more I don’t want them to hurt me. I don’t want to see them when I am out walking. Animals have their own minds and are unpredictable. I never, ever, ever like to see bears. I would just rather that we not know of eachother’s existence. Last night a guest at our cottage said that she doesn’t worry about bears because really they’re more afraid of us than we are of them. I don’t think they really know how afraid of them I am because I am sure that I’m the winner on this one.

Foxes are sly enough to keep themselves hidden so I am always sure that if we see one on our property it must be rabid. Have I ever mentioned that I grew up in the city?

I’m happy to see little birdies, loons and chipmunks.

Every day the birds wake me at about 5a.m. Usually I manage to fall back asleep. However, not being a morning person I really have to wonder what there is to sing about at 5a.m. every-single-day. Still, I can forgive the birds. I realize that it’s nothing personal against me. Birds just gotta sing. This morning as I was alone I could not help but notice the sound of stones hitting my cottage windows. Knowing that there was no one else with me and therefore there could not be any unrequited lovers trying to get my attention with a few well thrown stones, not to mention that my bedroom is on the main floor and if someone wants my attention he/she can just knock on my window (but pleasse don’t, you’ll just scare me). I soon realized that those weren’t stones, but birds hitting the windows. Geeze! How many did I hear? At least five. What was with the birds this morning? Fortunately there were no dead birds lying on our deck. When birds get stunned do they see little people flying around their heads?

We’ve noticed that there aren’t as many chipmunks as usual around our cottage this year. There is one particularly gutsy chipmunk who manages to show up after each and every meal. I know that it’s the same one because he/she has a particularly mangy appearance. His tail is scraggly and his fur appears a little moth eaten. My neice said that he’s had a tough life. My husband and I think that he’s murdered all of the other chipmunks. My husband told me to “stay away from that chipmunk.” My husband also grew up in the city.

I love watching the loons on our lake. They’re such mysterious birds. Their calls at night are positively haunting. I like watching them disappear into the water and trying to guess where they’re going to resurface. My daughter and I don’t like going into the water until we’ve seen where the loon has resurfaced. We worry about coming face to beak with a loon underwater. My daughter is not growing up in the big city but it would appear that her mother’s craziness is contagious. I won’t get going on how she feels about beavers – that one has nothing to do with me.

Ah the cottage, so much wildlife to enjoy.

6 responses to “Cottage Wildlife

    • Rivki, if you go on internet and try to get an example of loon calls I think you’ll understand where the expression comes from. They have 4 main calls (although I can only think of 2). Their locating call is very haunting and their warning/stress call well it just sounds crazy. They’re actually a pretty interesting bird, reclusive but not crazy. Their bones are heavier than most birds as they are designed to help them stay under the water. When they take off to fly they need a lot of space as it’s hard for them to get airborn. They sit much lower in the water than ducks and this makes them very easy to recognize. To me they are the quintessential sound of the north.

  1. Is a moose the same thing as an elk? The only ones I have spotted were in Sweden and one once in wildlife; the others were in a zoo. I am glad I can drive around without fearing to hurt one. Yet I’d really enjoy having all this wildlife around the house once in a while.

    • Ilanadavita, moose and elk are not the same animal. Moose are huge and very strange looking, long gangly legs and huge noses. It’s said that moose were created from of leftover parts. If you hit a moose with a car you are very likely to be just as damaged as the moose is.

Leave a Reply

