Telephone Joy

Not that long ago I wrote about my son’s interest in all things low-tech; typewriters, film cameras, records, record players etc. I ranted that it’s easy to enjoy them as a novelty but that the fun wears off when there are no other options.
Now it’s time for my admission. There is a low tech gadget that I adore. I love the telephone.

I was on the telephone with my sister complaining (there is no one better to complain to than a sister) that I was at loose ends without the kids around and with my husband at work. I ran, I walked, I swam, I read, I even tidied. Now what? I have so much time and a need to fill it. We discussed filling it with things that I want to do Not with things I feel I should do. I do not feel like pressure washing our sleep cabin. At least not by myself. So I’ve decided to work on my writing over the summer.

This is all an aside to my phone love. In the middle of our conversation a long distance beep came through. I quickly said good-bye to my sister and switched over to the new call. Then I heard the voice that I thought for a moment was his father’s, “Hi Mom, we’re in Jerusalem now.”
It’s hard to explain how and why the sound of a voice can bring such immediate and pure joy to my day. There was no need to see him because through the telephone he was right there in the room with me. Israel was no longer thousands of miles away but just at the other end of the phone line.

The kids on the trip from Vancouver are ‘sick’ – don’t feel bad for them ‘sick’ is a good thing.
The stay in the Bedouin tent was cool. Their tea is sweet – literally and figuratively.
His roommates are really nice.
Camels smell no worse than horses – somehow I expected them to smell a lot worse.
The air conditioning on the bus broke down – Yikes!
Everyone on the trip is really great.

I called my sister back so I could share my happiness (there is no one better to share happiness with than a sister). There was no answer but really it was O.K. because I got to hear my son’s voice and all is now well in my little corner of the world.

Thank you Alexander Graham Bell. I love your invention. Thank you to whoever came up with call waiting so that my son didn’t get a busy signal and I got the highlight of my week.

6 responses to “Telephone Joy

  1. I too love the phone. But I have discovered you can be too tired to talk, that’s a new one for me. Sooo glad you have call waiting!

    • Your love of the phone is old news. I remember when we were teenagers mom and dad saying that it was like a permanent growth coming out of your ear. You were never too tired to talk back then.

  2. Of course you know that I agree with you 100%! Email just doesn’t cut it when you want to pick up on the real stuff. The tone of voice says everything and the phone allows us to interact as human beings not message machines.

Leave a Reply

