I Heard the Chocolate Call My Name

Every now and then I have a craving for chocolate that I cannot fight. I try not to keep chocolate in the house so that this craving might just pass before I fulfill it.

It hit me yesterday like a ton of bricks. Fortunately there was no milk chocolate to be found in the house. But then I remembered, a bar of Lindt dark chocolate with chili pepper was hiding in my pantry trying to avoid its fate like a prisoner on death row. Now, I don’t really care for dark chocolate but for some reason this particular combination happens to be my favourite. My husband believes that if you don’t like dark chocolate you are not truly a chocolate lover. I beg to differ. He is a man who can forget about a dark Belgian bar of chocolate that has been bought especially for him. It will sit in the pantry slowly turning white until it dies a sad, lonely, painful death from neglect. At least my chocolate will be revered before it sacrifices its existence to the greater good.

Back to my pantry. The boys were all out of the room and my daughter was nearby but engrossed in a computer game. It was safe. Did I mention that I don’t love sharing? I quickly opened the package and broke off a square. My daughter’s head shot up as though zapped by an electric current. “Did you hear that SNAP?” she asked. “Mmm” I replied, busted. “THAT must be good chocolate.” she added with raised eyebrows. “Yeah, come here.” I said handing her a square.

When someone is a kindred spirit you just have to share.

7 responses to “I Heard the Chocolate Call My Name

  1. I couldn’t agree more, all experienced are inhanced when shared with kindred spirits. I can also relate to your love of chocolate… ask big shvester about the box of Savannah truffles in her fridge. If only she would break the seal.

Leave a Reply

