That Sucked, Mostly

So today I took the bull by the horns and did something that was long overdue. I went for my first outdoor run since the fall. I’ve been working out regularly on the treadmill for the past month. That’s 5 days a week for up to an hour and no less than 45 minutes. I haven’t been running, mostly speed walking with a little running thrown in.

Now, I know that the treadmill does not compare to running outside. It’s kind of like thinking that working out on your NordicTrack has anything in common with cross country skiing. They have nothing in common. Not a thing. Especially if you try cross country skiing on an icy day. Just saying.

The first part of my run was horrific. I know that your inner voice is everything and that you need to talk yourself through the rough parts but my inner voice is forgetful. It forgets about positive thinking. My inner voice goes something more like this; “Wow, my calves really hurt. They are so tight. Are those my hamstrings? They hurt too. Holy cow none of this hurts as much as my shins. Roll your foot, remember roll your foot. I’m panting. How’s my chest? Is my chest tight? Nope that’s O.K. Does my head feel like it’s going to explode? Nope, also O.K. So just keep going. Look at that hill, that is some big hill. Let’s just walk it quickly. Do any runners I know live on this street? No, it’s O.K. I don’t have to run past any houses with a big smile on my face, strong and upright, looking like this is a piece of cake. It’s not cake though, it’s matzah, eggs and oil and it’s all sitting in my belly, my butt and my legs. Wow, is the hill already over? That means run again. O.K., this feels fine. My legs feel looser, lighter. Drop your shoulders. How’s the Sciatica? No pain. Every time I say sciatica I feel like Barney Rubble talking about his aching sacoriliac. Hey this feels good. Down one more hill and then it’s home free. You know I feel good enough that I could probably go further. Naw.”

I have a girlfriend who is an amazing runner, she has taught me to get out of my comfort zone. But you know, doing that is … uncomfortable. I hope that I’ll run outside again tomorrow, weatrher permitting. Yes, I am a fair weather runner, for now. For some reason that first run is always so scary to me. Now it’s done and I know that I really can go a little further.

My run went from being horrific to just pathetic and that’s fine with me, for today.

12 responses to “That Sucked, Mostly

    • Ilanadavita, I have been working out 5 days a week and that’s what I’m hoping to maintain. I’m working up to 5km per run. I’m not there yet but I hope to be by the end of May.

  1. I can so relate. I had my first run outdoors in 7 years. After impressing myself on the treadmill I thought I was ready. Pathetic is an understatement for how I felt. You have lots to be proud of!

Leave a Reply

