The Best Joke Ever

I love April Fools’ Day. I always have. I love a good practical joke.

I have sworn off practical jokes. They tend to backfire and suddenly they’re not so funny.

I am not above hiding in my children’s closets so that I can scare them as they go to get ready for bed. I have never managed to scare them though, they can always hear me laughing in the closet. It ruins the surprise element. There was one incident with my eldest son and me in a Frankenstein mask, but we don’t really talk about it, seven years later and he’s still mad at me. My father has a warped sense of humour, I get it from him. Really. Just ask my eldest sister about playing hide and seek with him (he doesn’t come out until you cry) and about the “poison berries” that she watched him eat. We’re kinda sick. He also spoke through the radiator vent when I was a kid playing in the unfinished basement. He said he was God and he was watching me. I believed him.

Twenty-one years ago I played my very best April Fools’ joke on anyone ever. I married my husband. The day seemed befitting to the occasion. I was so nervous I didn’t think I could make it down the aisle, neither did anyone else. That part wasn’t so funny. The real joke – he married me right back. The ha ha-s just keep coming. No, really I would have to say that this is one of my very favourite things about our marriage. Our ability to make one another laugh and to laugh together. He doesn’t always get my sense of humour and really I don’t think there is anyone who could get it all the time, sometimes even I don’t get it. But he usually does. Every now and then he has what I call one of his big laughs. When he has a big laugh every one in the house comes running to see what’s going on and then we all end up laughing with tears running down our faces just from watching him. Nothing makes me happier than to have caused that laugh. The first time I ever heard him laugh like that we were on a date and I told him a joke. I liked the joke but I didn’t think it was THAT funny. I thought that he was mocking me. Pretending to laugh hard at something that he didn’t find that amusing. Once I realized that it was for real the joke got bumped to most favourite status. Unfortunately it is not a G rated joke, so I can’t repeat it here and after that big send up it would probably just disappoint you. Kind of like me and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, I just don’t get it.

I seem to have gone off on a tangent. I just want to say Happy Anniversary to us and thank you to my husband for 21 (mostly) wonderful laughter filled years.

2 responses to “The Best Joke Ever

Leave a Reply

