Too Old To Tweet

I wanted to be with it. I wanted to impress my kids with my tech savvy. I got the Twitter app for my iPad. I’m not with it. I’m not tech savvy. I still don’t get the whole twitter thing. It makes me feel voyeuristic. I don’t even need to follow my kids like this.

I feel as though I am both a stalker and being stalked. I check my iPad and there are people I don’t know waiting there to say things to me (O.K., not to me specifically but because it’s on my iPad it sort of almost feels like it’s to me). Of course, these tweets are waiting for me because I’ve chosen to follow these people. Why am I following anyone? If I want to talk to you I’ll call, text or email.
Or, gasp, we can go out for coffee together, face to face, in person.

I started following a blogger, ‘Sandmonkey’, in Cairo who has switched from blogging to tweeting. I knew that he is in the thick of things and I wanted to read what was going on. The length of the tweets make for a very choppy report. It’s also that much harder to figure out everyone’s agenda when the information bytes are so small. I don’t find it to be a satisfying format.

Please let me know when they release the Beta version, maybe I’ll rent it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

8 responses to “Too Old To Tweet

  1. I feel friggin ancient when it comes to this stuff. Does anyone remember writing letters? How about fountain pens? Or rotory dial phones? Black and white T.V.? Everything wasn’t so immediate. We learned patience. I guess I am a fossil.

  2. Ilana, good idea not to bother with it, but I’m sure that you have to keep up with the technology because of your students.
    Big, maybe instead of seeing ourselves as fossils we should view ourselves as diamonds. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you ever caught yourself thinking that the microwave is taking too long?

  3. I know, Mama. Believe me, I know. If you decide to stick with it, it does start to make a bit more sense. But it *is* tricky at first! Of course, I felt that way about email, and facebook and blogging. So… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

