Big Shvester’s Big Day

It’s that time again. The birthday of another person who is very special in my life.

I am very fortunate to have two older sisters, two sisters who could not be more different if they tried. They each give me a unique perspective on life and I don’t know what I would do without either of them.

When I was young my big shvester and I had a rocky relationship. She was forced into a care taking role which she resented and I took the resentment personally. But that was a long time ago and since then I have developed a better understanding and a heartfelt appreciation of her.

I remember calling my parents’ store when I was bullied at school one day. My sister answered the phone, she simply heard my voice and immediately asked what was wrong? The concern in her voice caused me to begin to cry. She was there when I needed her.

In university I gave blood for the first and the last time – they told me never to come back. Once I regained consciousness I called my sister. She and my little niece immediately came down to pick me up. She never hassled me about vomiting in her car. I went back to her house and slept for about 24 hours. She was there when I needed her.

After I had checked into the hospital to be induced for the birth of our first child the fear of labour overwhelmed me – telling labour horror stories to pregnant women in downright nasty and very common. I called my big shvester, she calmed me down and I actually loved giving birth. Once again, she was there for me.

When I need a tiger in my corner there’s no one I’d rather have than her. Many people may find her a little intimidating but I have to tell you that no one can crack me up like she can. Really, if you’re planning on touring the SNL studio, take her along she’s the best part of the tour.

Big Shvester, thank you for always being there for me, even when you had no choice and thanks for the laughs they’re always appreciated. I only hope that I can be there for you as you always have been for me.

Happy Birthday and many, many more.

4 responses to “Big Shvester’s Big Day

  1. To the shvester in who’s home I reside,
    Your rules I will surely abide.
    I want to behave badly and encourage the devil in you,
    To try and cheer you up when your feeling blue,
    Let loose and have fun, no need to stew.
    For a birthday hug come up to your second floor,
    As you are the sister we all adore.

    Love and kisses to big shvester and frozen from Kalliope

Leave a Reply

