Fresh Challah Not Frozen

As I have said in the past if I don’t make the challah we don’t eat it. So, in the spirit of giving I would like to share our family recipe with you. This was given to me by a friend and I adjusted it slightly. Our background is Polish so this is a SWEET challah. As a matter of fact, Destroy always asks me before he tastes any challah whether or not it has the secret ingredient in it. The secret ingredient is honey.

I throw all of the ingredients into my bread machine in the order in which they are given. I set it for dough only and then knead it and shape it. Most often I just make two loaves but there is enough dough for a nicely sized crown or even a six braided loaf. The baking instructions are for the loaves. If you should braid it, the bread will need to be tented or it will get too dark and of course it will need to bake longer. You will have to play it by ear.

Here goes, I hope you enjoy.

1/2 cup warm water

1/3 cup honey

2 tsp. sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs + 1 yolk (I set aside the one egg white to make a wash for the top)

1 tsp. salt

3 1/2 cups flour

2 1/2 tsp. bread machine yeast

Knead. Let rise one hour in warm draft free kitchen. Brush with egg white which has been mixed with a few drops of water. Sprinkle with either poppy or sesame seeds.

My oven bakes it in 20 minutes at 325 degrees, the original recipe called for it to bake at 350 for 20 minutes, we do not like our challah overly browned. Did I need to tell you to preheat your oven?

If you try this, I hope it goes well for you.  Bread is so finicky I really don’t enjoy making it. I know that if the day is humid my dough will be much more difficult to work with. I just don’t know what to do about it, I’m assuming I should use less  liquid I just don’t know how to adjust quantity to humidity. Enjoy.

4 responses to “Fresh Challah Not Frozen

  1. I have three recipes (some if not all somewhere on my blog): a quick one for emergency and two that I prefer. Mine are sweet too, even if now use less sugar than the recipes require.
    Shabbat Shalom!

  2. Thanks so much for sharing this! We make ours every week, too (Also in the bread machine!) and I love testing out new recipes! How do you think a ‘lil vanilla would bode in here? LOL Shabbat Shalom, lady! 🙂

Leave a Reply

