When Honesty Is Not the Best Policy

I am an honest person.  I can’t help it, I had the lies beaten out of me as a child.  I have no poker face.  I wish I did.

If we are friends and we go clothes shopping together and you try on something that looks bad on you and you ask me what I think.  I will tell you the truth, but in the nicest way I can, maybe something like; “You know, I think we can still find something much better.”

I may not be brutally honest, I don’t want to hurt you, but I most likely won’t lie.

So, a couple of weeks ago when I was visiting the big city with my children we were walking around downtown and we passed a street beggar.  Nothing unusual for the city except that he had this very honest sign set out next to his coin collecting hat; “Need money for weed.”

Really?  I mean, really?  How can I give you money for that?  One of my kids said, “I guess you have to admire his honesty.”    Do I?  I don’t think so.  Somehow in front of my kids I think I would have preferred a lie of omission.

What do you think?

One response to “When Honesty Is Not the Best Policy

Leave a Reply

