Is It Really Normal?

Sometimes I don’t recognize myself. I’m not speaking physically, I mean that there are times that I have thoughts that I never expected to have. They make me feel so much older and middle aged than I usually feel. But, undeniably they are my true feelings.

Not to get up on a soap box or anything (let’s face it this blog is exactly my personal soap box) but I worry about the decline of our civilization. I am torn by two conflicted feelings, one being that we are so much better off than we were in the repressive fifties (no vacuuming in pearls and high heels for me) and the other being that I wish that we could return to the innocence of that era – and yes I do know that the innocence was greatly illusory.

There are times, many of them, when I feel that the pendulum has swung too far and I fear that we may get whacked in our collective head when it swings back. Where does this come from? It’s not just one thing it’s all the little things stacked on top of one another: thong underwear, seeing strangers butt cracks in low riding jeans, skanky clothing for young girls, foul language in public in front of women and children, violent video games where murder is the goal (think every kind of warfare), road rage, music that seems more angry and hateful than poetic and soulful. No, I don’t think it’s that damn Rock and Roll out to destroy morality but something weird has been going on. Up feels like down and wrong seems to be right.

Maybe this is just normal, every generation has felt that the next one is going to hell in a hand basket but what if it really is true this time?

4 responses to “Is It Really Normal?

  1. I am totally with you on this one (am I old too?!).

    It’s really yucky when you’re driving fresh-faced youngsters to school and the radio is telling them that it’s okay to burn their girlfriend.

    I can only believe that there will be a backlash…. or is this simply wishful thinking?

  2. Frozenchallah, you’re remembering a time that our children can’t relate to on any level. To describe it to them sounds like the “olden days”. I too get very nostalgic for a time when manners mattered and civility was the norm. It makes me very sad when I think about it. But do remember, it wasn’t all so good either. It could be pretty repressive and there was an expectation of conformity. Heaven help you if you didn’t conform. But, that being said, it sure was a simpler time and I think that’s a large part of what we miss.

Leave a Reply

