Does This Really Make Me a Bad Person?

It has been a great summer.  The weather has been wonderful.  After two years of rainy, cold, miserable summers this has been a sunny relief that has nurtured our souls as much as our flesh.  Did you know that rickets has been on the rise?  We really do need exposure to the sun.

I was concerned at the beginning of summer that the kids would be bored without summer camp and that all of the togetherness would kill them.  I am happy to report that this has not happened.  They have managed to entertain themselves (the sunny weather definitely helps) and fighting has not gotten out of hand.

I seem to be the only one who needs a break from the togetherness.  Don’t get me wrong; I am crazy about my kids.  I prefer their company to just about anyone else’s.  That’s my issue; I think I like being alone too much.  I get prickly when I am constantly surrounded by people.  I like silence.  The Artiste gives me a hard time because most often I don’t even have the radio on in the car.  I think well in silence.  Silence soothes me.  So does the sight of water.  I think I like lakes better than oceans because oceans are noisy.  Just kidding, it’s the salt in my eyes that doesn’t thrill me.

We have done a lot of entertaining this summer.  It has been nice, sort of.  I have been brought to the realization that I like my company in small doses.  Even people that I really like.  Come for the afternoon and stay for dinner, great.  Sleep over and now you begin to enter into my prickly territory.  You can only prepare so many breakfasts, lunches and dinners, change so many beds, wash so many towels before you begin to feel like an underpaid servant.  Or at least, I can. It’s been great but it’s been more than enough.  We have a plate that we bought years ago for a charity fundraiser.  It was made by a local artist.  Basically, it looks like a regular plate that is covered with (three dimensional) bones and earthworms.  The boys were all young when we bought it and we knew that they would love the grossness of it.  We were right.  I want to hang it in my cottage kitchen.  Sometimes I laughingly tell our company that when this plate shows up on the kitchen table it is time to go home.  My husband thinks that this is a horrible thing and gets upset if I show the plate to anyone.  I think that I could do a lot worse.  What do you think?

We will be heading off to Israel in a few days. I don’t know if I’ll be able to blog from there or not.  I will try to, but I imagine myself passed out from the heat on the hotel bed a constant heat headache making it impossible for me to think or at least my fingers, drenched in sweat slipping off the keyboard.  Let’s just hope that I don’t pass out daily making the tour a drag for everyone else.  My husband loves the heat, he doesn’t get that I don’t.  This will be an exercise in empathy on his part and stoicism on my part.  Hopefully our marriage will survive and this trip will be a good memory for the kids.  There’s a heat wave!!  Can ya tell that this is making me nervous??  I can feel my blood thickening just thinking about it.

I hope that whoever reads this has a good end to their summer and that I will be regaling you with wonderful memories when I return.

Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Leave a Reply

