HEAT Part 2

On most days I imagine that our trip to Israel will be wonderful.  The last time I was in Israel was 1984-85 (over the winter) and when I left I was sure that I’d be making aliyah one day.  So I am thrilled to be going back after all of these years.  I can’t wait to experience it again with my husband and to get to watch my kids as they discover Israel for themselves.  I feel blessed to have my father and my father in law as well as the kids aunts, uncles and cousins on the trip with us.  I hope that this trip will give special meaning to Seek and Destroy’s B’nai Mitzvah.  I don’t see how it can’t.

Then there are those days when the heat is making me nuts and I think to myself, imagine it hotter and you’re climbing Masada.  This is when mentally our trip turns into a hybrid of Survivor and The Amazing Race with everyone wanting to vote me off.  Then there is the added pressure of being ‘The Mom’.  As you know this means being the person everyone can depend on.  Sometimes being The Mom is the toughest job.

Really, I want this trip to be the trip of a lifetime so I shall just buy some freezer packs, stick them in my pants and shirt and be The Mom with the smile on her face.

2 responses to “HEAT Part 2

Leave a Reply

