What’s Going On?

What’s going on is a question that I pose to you and that I ask of myself.

It’s been a long, long time since I’ve blogged. I’ve never done it consistently enough to build up any kind of readership but I’ve been even less consistent in the past year.
I began this blog as a mental exercise and as a form of creative expression. For the most part I’ve really enjoyed the writing. I also get disproportionately excited when someone comments on what I’ve written. I’m thrilled that anyone reads what I’ve written. I wonder who you are and what your life is like. If there’s a link to your blog I always check it out. So now I wonder what’s going on with the lives of my few readers out there.

There’s been a fair bit going on in my regular little life here. I just have had no desire to write about it.

My beloved father in law passed away this summer and I think this may have played a part in shutting me down. It was too personal to write about and everything else seemed of little significance.
We’ve also had a great deal of good in our lives this year. Our eldest went away and completed his first year of university. Our youngest celebrated her Bat Mitzvah in Israel this winter. It was a huge milestone for our family. I’ve said it before but the passage of time feels so very inconsistent. It took me forever to become an adult and then in the blink of an eye I have an eldest child who is 19, two sixteen year olds about to enter their last year of high school and a youngest child who has had her Bat Mitzvah and since turned 14. She’ll begin high school in the fall. She’s ready, I however, am not.

This weekend will be my father in law’s unveiling. It seems an appropriate time for me to step back into the world and to try to shake off my maudlin thoughts.

These are the ups and the downs of life. I need to redirect my focus and to quote Steve Winwood try to “Roll with it, baby”.

So welcome back to whoever reads me. On my part, I think it amy even feel good to be back here.

2 thoughts on “What’s Going On?

Leave a Reply

