You Know It’s Cold When…

We’re in a bit of a cold snap right now.  I think it’s called a cold snap because of the apparent ease with which our digits will snap off if we stand outside for too long.  O.K. so I’m exagerating a little. I don’t know of any actual digit snapping.  But believe me, it’s cold.

The school buses have all been cancelled because it’s just too cold for the kids to stand and wait for them. The snow is squeeky, as though it’s protesting the low temperatures with every step we take. My van also protested the cold and for the first time in the seventeen years we have lived here I thought that my vehicle might not start. The moisture in your nose freezes and you cough with every breath you take. There’s also that sharp pain across your forehead. My fireplace is on and I’m wearing a turtle neck and a sweater and I’m only comfortable.  For the first time menopause and hot flashes do not sound like a bad thing.

I have a big pot of soup cooking on the stove and the kids have already started drinking hot chocolate and tea.

I had heard that last night was supposed to be the coldest night of the year and then one of my kids told me that it’s supposed to drop to -50C tonight. Part of me is tempted to go outside in that just to see what it feels like. I think my brain needs thawing.

So, if you’re also experiencing these cold temperatures I wish you running vehicles, hot soup, warm clothing, welcoming shelter and pipes that don’t burst.

If you live in warmer climates, lucky you, enjoy.

However, I’ll still take this weather with a smile on my face because I love Canada just that much.

2 thoughts on “You Know It’s Cold When…

  1. Hi! Occasionally your blog pops to the top of my RSS as if you’ve posted something, but when I click it, there is nothing new there. Happened again yesterday; is this something you do?

Leave a Reply

