Broken Tear Ducts

We are into the big countdown to our eldest son’s departure. He is very excited. My husband and I are a mixture of emotions.

Of course we are excited for our son to have this wonderful adventure. He will begin by spending three months in Israel on a program which will enable him to get an inside look at a film shoot. I have a feeling he may be a coffee boy, we’ll find out. After this he will be travelling around Europe with two friends. They will be taking part in the “Work Away” experience. I think that it will take more organizing than the boys realize but I am not overly concerned about them handling the situation. I know with all of the forms of communication today we are far more available than when any of us went travelling in our youth.

He will return mid June, just in time to get his act together so that he can head off to a job at summer camp. After camp we will get a couple of weeks of him and then it’s off to university. So along with excitement and concern there is this third emotion. Cue the kleenx.

My husband came home from work the other day looked at my son and gave him a big hug. With a frown on his face he said something to the effect of, “This is it, you’ll be gone soon and it will never be the same.” At least that’s what I heard. My son sensitively responded with, “Yep, this is when I become an itinerant member of our family.”

ARE YOU KIDDING ME? You don’t say something like that in front of a menopausal mother. I quickly turned my back as the tears statred to trickle. Not quick enough. I heard my equally sensitive husband tell my son to look at me. With a laugh in his proud voice my son asked if I was crying over him leaving. Trying to save face I responded with, “No, my tear ducts are just broken.”

Nothing dries the tears up like a couple of guys teasing a woman for being emotional. Anger is so much better!

Leave a Reply

